Back to the CSISS Home Page.
Description  |  Schedule  |  Participants & Papers  |  Proceedings  |  Additional Resources

Agent-based Models of Land Use / Land Cover Change - Participants & Papers

 



Clicking on this symbol in the table below will take you to a participant's paper.

 

Participant

Affiliation & Email

Research Project(s)

Marina Alberti

Alberti's paper in pdf format.

Dept. of Urban Planning
University of Washington
Email: malberti@u.washington.edu

 

Richard Aspinall

Program Director, Geography and Regional Sciences
Division of Behavioral and Cognitive Sciences
National Science Foundation
Email: raspinal@nsf.gov

 

Alfons Balmann
Balmann's paper in pdf format.

Univ. of Applied Sciences in Neubrandenburg 
Email: abalmann@rz.hu-berlin.de

Multiple agricultural policy projects

Thomas Berger
Berger's paper in pdf format.

ZEF (Center for Development Research)
University of Bonn
Email: t.berger@uni-bonn.de

ZEF projects

Dan Brown
Brown's Paper in pdf format.

School of Natural Resources and Environment
University of Michigan
Email: danbrown@umich.edu

Project SLUCE,
Environmental Spatial Analysis Laboratory

Helen Couclelis 
Couclelis's Paper in pdf format.

Department of Geography
University of California, Santa Barbara
Email: cook@geog.ucsb.edu

 

Patrick D'Aquino
D'Aquino's Paper in pdf format.

CIRAD
Email: daquino@cirad.fr

Multiple CIRAD projects

"Thoughts on Modeling Collective Decision Making"

 

Peter Deadman 
Deadman's Paper in pdf format.

Department of Geography
University of Waterloo
Email: pjdeadma@fes.uwaterloo.ca

CIPEC biocomplexity, Indiana

Catherine Dibble

Department of Geography
University of Maryland
Email: cdibble@geog.umd.edu

GeoGraphs

Noah Goldstein
Goldstein's Paper in pdf format.

Department of Geography
University of California, Santa Barbara
Email: noah@geog.ucsb.edu

UCIME

Michael Goodchild

Center for Spatially Integrated Social Science, Co-Director
Department of Geography
University of California, Santa Barbara
Email: good@geog.ucsb.edu

 

Matt Hoffman
Hoffman's paper in html format.

Department of Political Science
University of Delaware
Email: mjhoff@udel.edu

CIPEC biocomplexity, Indiana

Marco Huigen
Huigen's paper in pdf format.

Department of Social Sciences, Nijmegen University
Center for Environmental Studies, Programme Environment and Development
CLUE project, Wageningen University
Summer fellow, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis
Email: huigen@cml.leidenuniv.nl or marco_huigen@hotmail.com

Action in Context

Elena Irwin
Irwin's paper in pdf format.

Department of Agricultural, Environmental, and Development Economics
The Ohio State University
Email: irwin.78@osu.edu

 

Donald Janelle

Center for Spatially Integrated Social Science, Program Director
University of California, Santa Barbara
Email: janelle@geog.ucsb.edu

 

Marco Janssen
Janssen's Paper in pdf format.

Department of Spatial Economics
Vrije Universiteit
Email: m.janssen@econ.vu.nl

Multiple projects

Steve Manson
Manson's Paper in pdf format.

Department of Geography
Clark University
Email: smanson@clarku.edu

Yucatán Project

Jim Opaluch
Opaluch's Paper in pdf format.

Department of Environmental and Natural Resource Economics
University of Rhode Island
Email: JimO@uri.edu

Land-use policy simulation model

Dawn Parker
Parker's paper in html format.

CIPEC
Indiana University
Email: dawparke@indiana.edu

CIPEC biocomplexity, Brazil

Gary Polhill
Polhill's paper in html format.

Macaulay Land Use Research Institute
Email: g.polhill@macaulay.ac.uk

FEARLUS

K.S. Rajan

Institute of Industrial Science
University of Tokyo
Email: rajan@skl.iis.u-tokyo.ac.jp

LUCC Focus 2

Derek Robinson

Department of Geography
University of Waterloo
Email: dtrobins@fes.uwaterloo.ca

CIPEC biocomplexity, Brazil

Paul Torrens

CASA
University College, London
Email: ptorrens@geog.ucl.ac.uk

NEXSUS Geosimulation project

B. L. Turner
Turner's Paper in pdf format.

Department of Geography
Clark University
Email: Bturner@clarku.edu

Yucatán Project

Keith Warren
Turner's Paper in pdf format.

College of Social Work
The Ohio State University
Email: warren.193@osu.edu

 

Roger White

Department of Geography
Memorial University of Newfoundland 
Email: roger@morgan.ucs.mun.ca

RIKS projects

     

Background Reading:

The Background Reading for this workshop, as modified and accepted for publication in the Annals of the Association of American Geographers (in press), is available as a pdf:

Multi-Agent Systems for the Simulation of Land-Use and Land-Cover Change: A Review
Dawn C. Parker, Steven M. Manson, Marco A. Janssen, Matthew J. Hoffmann, and Peter Deadman. The original background paper appeared in 2001 as a CIPEC Working Paper CW-01-05. Bloomington: Center for the Study of Institutions, Population, and Environmental Change, Indiana University.

Questions may be addressed to:

Dawn Cassandra Parker, Post-Doctoral Fellow
Center for the Study of Institutions, Population, and Environmental Change
Indiana University
dawparke@indiana.edu


Core Programs | Learning Resources | Spatial Resources | Spatial Tools | Search Engines | CSISS Events | Community Center | About CSISS
Site Map | Contact CSISS | Plug-ins | Privacy Policy | Site Credits | Home

Copyright © 2001-2008 by Regents of University of California, Santa Barbara
Webmaster: Guylene Gadal