Advanced Spatial Analysis


This website is preserved as an Archive for the NIH-funded GISPopSci / Advanced Spatial Analysis Training Programs (2005–2013). Current resources in support of
Spatially Integrated Social Science
are now available at the following:

spatial-logo
www.spatial.ucsb.edu
gispopsci-logo
www.gispopsci.org
teachspatial-logo
www.teachspatial.org

UCSB 2006 July 10-July 21: Santa Barbara, CA

Instructors

  • Keith Clarke
    Geography Department
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: clarke@geog.ucsb.edu
  • Jeremy Crampton
    Anthropology and Geography Department
    Georgia State University
    Email: jcrampton@gsu.edu
  • James Detwiler
    GIS Specialist/Instructor, John A. Dutton e-Education Institute
    The Pennsylvania State University
    Email: detwiler@essc.psu.edu
  • Michael F. Goodchild
    Geography Department
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: good@geog.ucsb.edu
  • Donald Janelle
    Center for Spatially Integrated Social Science
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: janelle@geog.ucsb.edu
  • William Pan
    Assistant Scientist, Department of International Health
    The Johns Hopkins University
    Email: wpan@jhsph.edu
  • Stuart Sweeney
    Geography Department
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: sweeney@geog.ucsb.edu
  • Waldo Tobler
    Geography Department
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: tobler@geog.ucsb.edu

Teaching Assistants and Project Consultants

  • Sarah Battersby
    Geography Department
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: batts@geog.ucsb.edu
  • Kathryn Grace
    Department of Geography
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: katgrace@umail.ucsb.edu
  • Jeff Hemphill
    Department of Geography
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: jeff@geog.ucsb.edu
  • Enki Yoo
    Department of Geography
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: yoo@geog.ucsb.edu

Guest Presenters

  • Carter Butts
    Department of Sociology and Institute for Mathematical Behavioral Sciences, Assistant Professor
    University of California, Irvine
    Email: buttsc@uci.edu
  • Stephen A. Matthews
    Associate Professor of Geography, Demography and Sociology
    Population Research Institute, The Pennsylvania State University
    Email: matthews@pop.psu.edu
  • John R. Weeks
    Professor of Geography and Director, International Population Center
    San Diego State University
    Email: john.weeks@sdsu.edu

Participants

  • Maria Jose Alvarez
    University of Pittsburgh
    Email: maa7@pitt.edu
  • Tony Ao
    Harvard School of Public Health
    Email: tao@hsph.harvard.edu
  • Richard Callahan
    University of Washington
    Email: rjcal@u.washington.edu
  • Kiyah Duffey
    University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
    Email: kduffey@unc.edu
  • Penelope-Jane Frye
    University of Queensland
    Email: p.fry@uq.edu.au
  • Diana Grigsby-Toussaint
    University of Ilinois-Chicago
    Email: diana.grigsby@gmail.com
  • Erin Hamilton
    Population Research Center
    University of Texas@Austin
    Email: erinh@prc.utexas.edu
  • Christopher Isett
    Department of History
    University of Minnesota
    Email: isett003@tc.umn.edu
  • Dennis Kao
    School of Social Work
    University of Southern California
    Email: denniska@usc.edu
  • Quynh Le
    University of Tasmania
    Email: Quynh.Le@utas.edu.au
  • Rosanna Shuk Yin Lee
    Center of Demography and Ecology
    University of Washington
    Email: rsyl@u.washington.edu
  • Matthew Moehr
    University of Wisconsin - Madison
    Email: mmoehr@ssc.wisc.edu
  • Phuong Nguyen
    Minnesota Population Center
    Email: phuong@pop.umn.edu
  • Jeremy Pais
    Department of Sociology
    Tulane University
    Email: jpais@tulane.edu
  • Miruna Petrescu-Prahova
    Department of Sociology
    University of California Irvine
    Email: mpetresc@uci.edu
  • Shubhayu Saha
    North Carolina State University
    Email: shubhayu@gmail.com
  • Khalil Shahyd
    Brandeis University
    Email: khalil05@brandeis.edu
  • Laura Spess
    Population Council
    Email: lspess@popcouncil.org
  • Eun-Young Song
    Wake Forest University School of Medicine
    Email: esong@wfubmc.edu
  • Lyndal Thomas
    University of Melbourne
    Email: thomasl@unimelb.edu.au
  • Van Tran
    John F. Kennedy School of Government
    Harvard University
    Email: vantran@fas.harvard.edu
  • Pablo Penataro Yori
    Asociacion Benefica Prisma
    Johns Hopkins University
    Email: iqtlab@jhsph.edu
  • Yuanting Zhang
    Bowling Green State University
    Email: yuantz@bgnet.bgsu.edu