Advanced Spatial Analysis


This website is preserved as an Archive for the NIH-funded GISPopSci / Advanced Spatial Analysis Training Programs (2005–2013). Current resources in support of
Spatially Integrated Social Science
are now available at the following:

spatial-logo
www.spatial.ucsb.edu
gispopsci-logo
www.gispopsci.org
teachspatial-logo
www.teachspatial.org

PSU 2006 June 4-June 16, 2006: University Park, PA

Instructors

  • Stephen A. Matthews (Coordinator)
    Associate Professor of Geography, Demography and Sociology
    Population Research Institute, The Pennsylvania State University
    Email: matthews@pop.psu.edu
  • Michelle Zeiders
    Senior GIS Programmer, GIA Core
    The Pennsylvania State University
    Email: zeiders@pop.psu.edu
  • Yosef Bodovsky
    GIS Programmer, GIA Core
    The Pennsylvania State University
    Email: yosefb@pop.psu.edu
  • Steve Graham
    Senior GIS Programmer, GIA Core
    The Pennsylvania State University
    Email: steveg@pop.psu .edu
  • James Detwiler
    GIS Specialist/Instructor, John A. Dutton e-Education Institute
    The Pennsylvania State University
    Email: detwiler@essc.psu.edu
  • Brian McManus
    GIS Programmer
    Pennsylvania State University
    Email: bmcmanus@psu.edu
  • Shawn Dorius
    NICHD Predoctoral Fellow, Department of Sociology
    Pennsylvania State University
    Email: sdorius@psu.edu
  • Nathan Walters
    Research Assistant, Department of Sociology/Crime, Law, and Justice
    Pennsylvania State University
    Email: npw111@psu.edu
  • Tse-chuan Yang
    GIA Core Research Assistant, Department
    Pennsylvania State University
    Email: tuy111@psu.edu
  • Jin Chen
    GeoVISTA Center, Department of Geography
    Pennsylvania State University
    Email: jxc93@psu.edu
  • Adrienne Gruver
    GeoVISTA Center, Department of Geography
    Pennsylvania State University
    Email: abg152@psu.edu

Guest Presenters

  • Marcia Caldas de Castro
    Geography Department
    University of South Carolina
    Email: mcaldas@sc.edu
  • Etien Koua
    GeoVISTA Center, Department of Geography
    Pennsylvania State University
    Email: koua@psu.edu
  • Sean Reardon
    Associate Professor of Education and Sociology
    Stanford University, School of Education
    Email: sean.reardon@stanford.edu
  • Narayan Sastry
    Los Angeles Family and Neighborhood Survey, Co-Director
    RAND
    Email: sastry@rand.org
  • David O'Sullivan
    Department of Geography
    University of Auckland, New Zealand
    Email: d.osullivan@auckland.ac.nz
  • Paul Voss
    Emeritus Professor of Rural Sociology
    University of Wisconsin@Madison
    Email: voss@ssc.wisc.edu

Participants

  • Heidi Berman
    University of Washington
    Email: hit@u.washington.edu
  • Kanisha Bond
    Dept of Political Science
    Penn State University
    Email: kdb194@psu.edu
  • Kuniko Chijiwa
    University of Florida
    Email: miguelk@ufl.edu
  • Jessica Cigna
    The Urban Institute
    Email: jcigna@ui.urban.org
  • Michelle Cochrane
    University of California@Berkeley
    Email: mcochrane@prev.org
  • Rebecca Curtis
    Department of Sociology
    Loyola University
    Email: rec26@psu.edu
  • Kevin Drakulich
    University of Washington
    Email: kmd3@u.washington.edu
  • Benjamin Earnhart
    University of Iowa
    Email: benjamin-earnhart@uiowa.edu
  • Vincent Fu
    University of Utah
    Email: vincent.fu@soc.utah.edu
  • Meredith Greif
    Penn State University
    Email: mjg270@psu.edu
  • Mira Hidajat
    Penn State University
    Email: mhidajat@pop.psu.edu
  • Matthew Kaliner
    Department of Sociology
    Harvard University
    Email: kaliner@fas.harvard.edu
  • Katherine King
    University of Michigan
    Email: keking@umich.edu
  • Iliana Kohler
    Population Studies Center
    University of Pennsylvania
    Email: iliana@pop.upenn.edu
  • Pearl Kyei
    University of Pennsylvania
    Email: pekyei@sas.upenn.edu
  • Lissette Aliaga Linares
    Population Research Center-Department of Sociology
    University of Texas
    Email: lissette@prc.utexas.edu
  • Yimin "Gloria" Lou
    RAND Graduate School
    Email: ylou@prgs.edu
  • Mary "Merlin" Marshall
    Ohio State University Initiative in Population Research
    Email: marshall.11@osu.edu
  • Pedro Neiva
    Population Research Center
    University of Texas
    Email: prneiva@terra.com.br
  • Juan Pantano
    Department of Economics
    California Center for Population Research, UCLA
    Email: jpantano@ucla.edu
  • Ashley Schempf
    Johns Hopkins School of Public Health
    Email: aschempf@jhsph.edu
  • Chelsea Shields Strayer
    Boston University
    Email: cstrayer@bu.edu
  • Sandile Simelane
    University of Pennsylvania
    Email: sandiles@pop.upenn.edu
  • Jeffrey Strickland
    Montclair State University
    Email: stricklandj@mail.montclair.edu
  • David Van Riper
    Minnesota Population Center
    Email: vanriper@geog.umn.edu
  • Sarah Zureick
    University of California, Berkeley
    Email: sarahz@demog.berkeley.edu