Advanced Spatial Analysis


This website is preserved as an Archive for the NIH-funded GISPopSci / Advanced Spatial Analysis Training Programs (2005–2013). Current resources in support of
Spatially Integrated Social Science
are now available at the following:

spatial-logo
www.spatial.ucsb.edu
gispopsci-logo
www.gispopsci.org
teachspatial-logo
www.teachspatial.org

UCSB 2005 June 19-July 2: Santa Barbara, CA

Instructors

  • David Carr
    Geography Department
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: carr@geog.ucsb.edu
  • Keith Clarke
    Geography Department
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: clarke@geog.ucsb.edu
  • James Detwiler
    GIS Specialist/Instructor, John A. Dutton e-Education Institute
    The Pennsylvania State University
    Email: detwiler@essc.psu.edu
  • Sara Fabrikant
    Geography Department
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: sara@geog.ucsb.edu
  • Michael F. Goodchild
    Geography Department
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: good@geog.ucsb.edu
  • Barbara Herr Harthorn
    Department of Anthropology
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: bharthor@omni.ucsb.edu
  • Donald Janelle
    Geography Department
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: janelle@geog.ucsb.edu
  • Stuart Sweeney
    Geography Department
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: sweeney@geog.ucsb.edu
  • Waldo Tobler
    Geography Department
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: tobler@geog.ucsb.edu

Teaching Assistants and Project Consultants

  • Sarah Battersby
    Geography Department
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: batts@geog.ucsb.edu
  • Kathryn Grace
    Department of Geography
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: katgrace@umail.ucsb.edu
  • Jeff Hemphill
    Department of Geography
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: jeff@geog.ucsb.edu
  • Enki Yoo
    Department of Geography
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    Email: yoo@geog.ucsb.edu

Guest Presenters

  • Carter Butts
    Department of Sociology and Institute for Mathematical Behavioral Sciences, Assistant Professor
    University of California, Irvine
    Email: buttsc@uci.edu
  • Graeme Hugo
    Director of the National Centre for Social Applications of GIS
    University of Adelaide, Australia
    Email: graeme.hugo@adelaide.edu.au
  • Sean Reardon
    Associate Professor of Education and Sociology
    Stanford University, School of Education
    Email: sean.reardon@stanford.edu
  • Narayan Sastry
    Los Angeles Family and Neighborhood Survey, Co-Director
    RAND
    Email: sastry@rand.org
  • Richard Scribner
    Assistant Professor
    Louisiana State University School of Public Health
    Email: rscrib@lsuhsc.edu
  • John R. Weeks
    Professor of Geography and Director, International Population Center
    San Diego State University, Department of Geography
    Email: john.weeks@sdsu.edu

Participants

Rajib Acharya
Alisson Barbieri
Joan Brunkard
Michael Chung
Anneclaire De Roos
Julie Dowling
Linda Edelman
Kohei Enami
Corina Graif
Yan Guo
Jacky Jennings
Ann Kim

Cathy Yang Liu
Sonia Martin
Roderick McCrea
Lisel O'Dwyer
William Pan
Bryan Rookey
Landy Sanchez
Kimiko Shiki
Riti Shimkhada
Karen Snedker
Susan Voelker
Brandon Wall